top of page
Search
  • regisaba

Wrap Up

Updated: Jul 9, 2019

As we returned to our own clinic at Regis College, the graduate students took a few moments to reflect on their experiences in Iceland;


"The skills and knowledge I gained while providing consultative services in Iceland were advantageous. Working in collaboration with the preschool and my advisor provided me with an opportunity to gain knowledge in my future field of Applied Behavior Analysis. Some of the skills I learned while in Iceland were how to develop a training, provide feedback, behavior skills training, collaborate with a multidisciplinary team and develop critical thinking skills. I am grateful to have been apart of this experience provided by my ABA Program Director, Jaquelyn MacDonald and Clinical Director, Brianna Holohan."


"I'm so glad I had the opportunity to consult with a school, since in the ABA field, this is experience that's hard to get. I didn't realize what people in different countries knew about ABA, and it was interesting to help understand concepts that we find simple that will hopefully make a big difference in their school. It was also good for me to understand the difference between being a therapist and a consultant while being at the school. Overall, this was amazing and valuable experience that will help improve my work in our field."


"It’s difficult to put into words the experience I was afforded during our recent trip to Iceland to provide behavior analytic consultation services to students and schools in need. The opportunity to spend time in the incredible and beautiful city of Reykjavik along with the awe-inspiring landscapes it is surrounded by was only the tip of the iceberg of positive experiences the trip had to offer. The clinical experience we gained by consulting in schools, navigating language barriers and adjusting our methods to align with the culture of the people and country we were in is experience I likely would not have gained for many years into my clinical experience if at all. I left Iceland with the knowledge that we made a significant positive impact on a young student’s life and learning who would likely not have otherwise accessed the support we provided. I will be forever grateful for the opportunity I was provided in gaining experience in international behavioral consulting through the Regis service trip to Iceland."




28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page